AIFC showcased in London

LONDON, 3 December 2018 – The Astana International Financial Centre (AIFC) was presented to London's financial and business establishment. The event dedicated to the official launch of the AIFC was held with the support of the Embassy of Kazakhstan in the UK.

Ambassador of Kazakhstan to the United Kingdom Erlan Idrissov and AIFC Governor Kairat Kelimbetov addressed those present at the event.

“Kazakhstan is a country open to business and foreign direct investment. This is confirmed by the creation of the Astana International Financial Centre. Its regulatory and legal framework is built upon the world's best practice. I am confident that the AIFC work will contribute to the development of bilateral relations between Kazakhstan and the UK and will become a solid foundation for long-term and mutually beneficial cooperation," said Mr. Idrissov.

As Mr. Kelimbetov noted, the AIFC operates in accordance with international standards of regulating the judicial system, the financial services and the stock market operations. Since the AIFC's official launch, 100 companies have already registered on the AIFC platform, and trading has been launched on the Astana International Exchange (AIX).

“We follow the successful examples of Dubai and Abu Dhabi. Those are relevant benchmarks for us. But what we would like is to also create a unique platform, which will be the latest edition of a modern international financial centre," said Mr. Kelimbetov.

Chairman of the AIFC Court Lord Harry Kenneth Woolf, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA) Lady Barbara Judge, Chairman of the AIFC International Arbitration Centre Barbara Dohmann and AIX Chairman Timothy Bennett spoke about the basic principles of the AIFC's work.

“Our rules are based on decades of what is expected in international arbitration centres. Our panel of arbitrators and mediators comprises professionals with immense experience in many areas who can speak various languages. It is the parties who will choose which arbitrators they want to appoint. The parties can choose which rules they want to apply. The parties can choose just about anything, including the venue and the language of their hearing," said Ms. Dohmann about the work of the AIFC International Arbitration Centre.

The event was attended by such prominent figures as the UK Prime Minister's Trade Envoy to Kazakhstan Baroness Emma Nicholson, member of the UK Parliament's House of Lords and Vice Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Kazakhstan Lord Mohamed Sheikh, representatives of the London Stock Exchange, TheCityUK, Bloomberg, White & Case, The Hampton Group and other companies from various business sectors, ambassadors of a number of leading countries, experts, journalists, and others.

The meeting of the AIFC Legal Advisory Council was held the same day, as well as the AIFC presentation at Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs. The event was held for the UK's leading experts in the fields of geo-economics, state development and financial markets. AIFC representatives gave detailed answers to all the questions about the financial centre's work.

The AIFC was established on the initiative of the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev. The Centre operates in accordance with the Constitutional Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan “On the Astana International Financial Centre" adopted in December 2015. The AIFC's goal is to attract investment into the country by creating an attractive investment environment in financial services and capital markets, including securities, banking services and Islamic finance. The AIFC official launch ceremony took place on 5 July 2018 in Astana.

Created at : 4.12.2018, 18:00, Updated at : 4.12.2018, 18:00

В столице Великобритании состоялась презентация МФЦА

ЛОНДОН, 3 декабря 2018 – Перспективы развития Международного финансового центра «Астана» (МФЦА) были представлены финансовым и деловым кругам Лондона. Мероприятие, посвященное официальному запуску МФЦА, состоялось при поддержке посольства Республики Казахстан в Великобритании.

С приветственной речью перед участниками выступили Посол Казахстана в Великобритании Ерлан Идрисов и Управляющий МФЦА Кайрат Келимбетов.

«Казахстан – страна, открытая для бизнеса и прямых иностранных инвестиций. Подтверждение тому – создание Международного финансового центра «Астана», нормативно-правовая база которого основана на лучшем мировом опыте. Уверен, деятельность МФЦА будет способствовать дальнейшему углублению двусторонних отношений между Казахстаном и Великобританией и станет солидной платформой для долгосрочного и взаимовыгодного сотрудничества», – сказал Е.Идрисов.

Как отметил Управляющий МФЦА, финансовый центр работает в соответствии с международными стандартами регулирования судебной системы, финансовых услуг и операций на фондовых рынках. С момента официального запуска на площадке МФЦА зарегистрировалось уже 100 компаний, а также были запущены торги на Бирже МФЦА.

«Мы следуем успешным примерам Дубая и Абу-Даби. Это важные ориентиры для нас. Но в то же время наша цель – создание уникальной платформы, которая станет новейшей версией современного международного финансового центра», – сказал К. Келимбетов.

Об основных принципах функционирования МФЦА и его институтов рассказали Председатель суда МФЦА Лорд Гарри Кеннет Вульф, Председатель Совета директоров Комитета по регулированию финансовых услуг МФЦА Леди Барбара Джадж, Председатель Международного арбитражного центра МФЦА Барбара Доманн, Председатель Биржи МФЦА Тимоти Беннетт.

«Наши правила основаны на многолетнем опыте функционирования международных арбитражных центров. Наша коллегия арбитров состоит из профессионалов с огромным опытом в различных областях, владеющих различными языками. Стороны выбирают, каких арбитров они хотят назначить. Стороны могут выбирать, какие правила они будут применять. Стороны могут выбирать практически все, включая место проведения слушания и язык», – подчеркнула Б.Доманн, рассказывая о деятельности Международного арбитражного центра МФЦА.

Среди гостей презентации были такие видные деятели, как Торговый посланник Премьер-министра Великобритании по Казахстану Баронесса Эмма Николсон, член Палаты лордов Парламента Великобритании и Заместитель председателя Всепартийной группы по сотрудничеству с Казахстаном Лорд Мохамед Шейх, представители Лондонской фондовой биржи, «TheCityUK», «Bloomberg», «White & Case», «The Hampton Group» и других компаний из различных секторов бизнеса, послы ряда ведущих стран, эксперты, журналисты и др.

Кроме того, в этот день состоялись заседание Правового Консультативного Совета, а также презентация МФЦА в Королевском институте международных отношений «Chatham House» для ведущих экспертов Великобритании в сфере геоэкономики, государственного развития и финансовых рынков. Представители МФЦА подробно ответили на все вопросы о деятельности финцентра.

МФЦА был создан по инициативе Президента Республики Казахстан Нурсултана Назарбаева. Центр осуществляет свою деятельность в соответствии с Конституционным Законом Республики Казахстан «О Международном финансовом центре «Астана», принятом в декабре 2015 года. Целью МФЦА является привлечение инвестиций в экономику страны путем создания привлекательной для инвестирования среды в сфере финансовых услуг и рынков капитала, включая ценные бумаги, банковские услуги и исламские финансы. Официальная церемония запуска МФЦА состоялась 5 июля 2018 года в Астане.

Добавлено : 4.12.2018, 18:00, Изменено : 4.12.2018, 18:00