​Kazakh journalist receives WinTrade Woman of the Year Award

LONDON, 28 June 2019 – Kazakh journalist Akmaral Batalova won the WinTrade Woman of the Year Award 2019, for a series of reports and films about the protracted Syrian crisis. She was nominated for this award by a group of representatives of the House of Lords.

She is the only Kazakh journalist who has officially visited Syria during the military crisis, making a series of reports for the Khabar-24 TV channel. She has also covered the Syrian peace talks within the Astana Process, and regularly publishes articles on the Middle East.

Over the past two years, Mrs. Batalova, together with the team from her production centre, Sesar Film Production, has produced four documentaries: on the Syrian crisis, the Astana Process, the anti-radicalisation of Islam, and the results of Kazakhstan's tenure as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council.

The WinTrade international organisation was founded by British business leader Yvonne Thompson CBE in 1996, and aims to support the activities of women in various industries. This has included the foundation of an award that recognises women's achievements in various fields.

The WinTrade Award is presented across numerous specialities, including science, art, technology, journalism, and design. The 'Woman of the Year' category is awarded to a woman who has demonstrated outstanding integrity and progressive thinking in her work above and beyond in her work space, proving her ability to change perceptions of women and under-represented communities, or has been a catalyst of change for her audience.

The award ceremony was the culmination of the WinTrade Week held in London, aimed at presenting best practices, sharing experience and developing business contacts among women from around the world. This year's forum was themed “Womenomics in the Digital Age of Technology and Artificial Intelligence".

This year, 500 women from all over the world were nominated for the WinTrade Award in 20 nominations. More than 11,000 people participated in the online voting.

The ceremony was attended by the Ambassador of Kazakhstan to the UK Erlan Idrissov, the ambassadors of Belarus, Georgia, and Uzbekistan, the members of the House of Lords Baroness Verma and Lord Sheikh, member of the House of Commons Helen Grant MP, and representatives of major international companies, including Facebook, MasterCard, Microsoft, the London Stock Exchange, Deloitte, and Ernst & Young.

Created at : 1.07.2019, 10:00, Updated at : 1.07.2019, 10:00

​Казахстанка выиграла международную премию WinTrade в номинации «женщина года»

ЛОНДОН, 28 июня 2019 года – Казахстанская журналистка Акмарал Баталова выиграла премию WinTrade в номинации «женщина года». Награду казахстанка заслужила за серию репортажей и фильмов о затяжном конфликте в Сирии.

На данную премию А.Баталову выдвинула группа представителей Палаты лордов Парламента Великобритании после ознакомления с ее работами о Сирии.

А.Баталова – единственный казахстанский журналист, официально посетившая Сирию во время военного кризиса и сделавшая оттуда серию репортажей для канала «Хабар-24».

Она также регулярно освещает сирийские мирные переговоры в рамках Астанинского процесса и является автором обзорных статей по Ближнему Востоку.

За последние два года с командой своего продюсерского центра «Sesar Film Production» А.Баталова сняла четыре документальных фильма: по сирийской проблеме, об Астанинском процессе, антирадикализации ислама и результатах работы Казахстана в качестве члена Совета Безопасности ООН.

Международная организация WinTrade была основана британской бизнес-леди и кавалером Превосходнейшего ордена Британской империи Ивонн Томпсон в 1996 году и направлена на поддержку деятельности женщин в различных отраслях. Организация также основала премию, отмечающую особые заслуги женщин в различных видах деятельности.

Премия WinTrade выдается в таких номинациях, как наука, искусство, технологии, журналистика, дизайн и другие. Награда, полученная казахстанкой, присуждается женщине, которая продемонстрировала выдающуюся целостность и прогрессивное мышление, выходя за рамки привычного рабочего пространства, доказав свою способность изменять восприятие женщин и недостаточно представленных сообществ, или была катализатором или агентом перемен в жизни людей.

Церемония награждения стала кульминацией недельного форума WinTrade Week, проходившего в британской столице и нацеленного на представление лучших практик, обмен опытом и развитие бизнес-контактов среди женщин со всего мира. Темой форума в нынешнем году стала «Womenomics (женщины в экономике) в век цифровых технологий и искусственного интеллекта».

В текущем году на премию WinTrade в 20-ти номинациях претендовали 500 женщин со всего мира. В онлайн-голосовании участвовало свыше 11 тысяч человек.

На церемонии вручения присутствовали Посол Казахстана в Великобритании Ерлан Идрисов, послы Белоруссии, Грузии и Узбекистана, члены Палаты лордов Парламента Великобритании Баронесса Верма и Лорд Шейх, член Палаты общин Парламента Великобритании Хелен Грант, руководство Facebook, MasterCard, Microsoft, Лондонской фондовой биржи, Deloitte, Ernst & Young и других крупных международных корпораций.

Добавлено : 1.07.2019, 10:00, Изменено : 1.07.2019, 10:00