Kazakhstan and Switzerland increase mutually beneficial cooperation

NUR-SULTAN, June 27, 2019 – The Ministry of Foreign Affairs held the annual Kazakh-Swiss political consultations, chaired by the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan Roman Vassilenko and the Deputy State Secretary of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland Krystyna Marty Lang.

The consultations reviewed a wide range of issues to further deepen relations between the two countries.

Following the consultations, Foreign Minister Beibut Atamkulov received the head of the Swiss delegation.

The sides commended the high level of political contacts, economic, cultural and humanitarian cooperation, and reaffirmed their joint commitment to further expand mutually beneficial cooperation.

Deputy State Secretary Lang congratulated the people of Kazakhstan on the successful election that Swiss representatives observed. She stressed that Switzerland remembers President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev well, from when he was the head of the UN Office in Geneva.

The Swiss diplomat expressed interest in strengthening cooperation with Kazakhstan in light of the reform agenda set forth by President Tokayev.

The sides paid particular attention to the expansion of legal framework. The sides, together with competent state agencies, had a substantive discussion on visa facilitation, trade, and industry agreements.

In parallel, the sides exchanged views on topical international issues, including future regional cooperation in Central Asia, the implementation of the Belt and Road Initiative, the situation in Afghanistan and Syria. The Swiss side was greatly interested to learn about the success of the Zhussan operation that has already helped to bring back almost 600 of Kazakhstani citizens from Syria.

The Swiss side expressed willingness to share its experience in water management and meeting the challenges in this area in the context of developing cooperation in Central Asia. The agenda of political consultations also included cooperation issues within the UN, OSCE, OECD, WTO and other key international organizations.

The sides noted positive growth in bilateral trade that reached $3 billion last year, making Switzerland the sixth largest trade partner of Kazakhstan. Moreover, Switzerland is one of the largest foreign investors in Kazakhstan's economy, with $23 billion invested in 2005-2018.

Despite the strong performance, the sides agreed to build up trade and economic cooperation. Innovation, food industry, agriculture, financial services, energy, pharmaceuticals and tourism were called the promising areas.

Created at : 27.06.2019, 10:45, Updated at : 27.06.2019, 10:45

Казахстан и Швейцария наращивают взаимовыгодное сотрудничество

НУР-СУЛТАН, 27 июня 2019 года – В Министерстве иностранных дел состоялись ежегодные казахстанско-швейцарские политические консультации под председательством Заместителя Министра иностранных дел Казахстана Романа Василенко и Заместителя Статс-секретаря Федерального департамента иностранных дел Швейцарии Кристины Марти Ланг.

Консультации позволили рассмотреть широкий круг вопросов дальнейшего углубления отношений между двумя странами.

По итогам консультаций Министр иностранных дел Бейбут Атамкулов принял главу швейцарской делегации.

Стороны подчеркнули достигнутый высокий уровень политических контактов, экономического и культурно-гуманитарного сотрудничества, подтвердили обоюдную приверженность дальнейшему расширению взаимовыгодного сотрудничества.

К. Марти Ланг поздравила народ Казахстана с успешным проведением выборов, в наблюдении за которыми также принимали участие представители Швейцарии. Она подчеркнула, что в Швейцарии хорошо помнят Президента Касым-Жомарта Токаева в его бытность главой Отделения ООН в Женеве.

Швейцарский дипломат выразила заинтересованность в укреплении сотрудничества с Казахстаном в свете изложенной Президентом К-Ж.Токаевым реформаторской повестки.

Особое внимание стороны уделили расширению договорно-правовой базы. Совместно с представителями компетентных государственных органов были предметно обсуждены соглашения в сфере облегчения визового режима, торговли, промышленности.

Наряду с этим, состоялся обмен мнениями по актуальным международным вопросам, включая перспективы регионального сотрудничества в Центральной Азии, реализацию инициативы «Один пояс, один путь», ситуацию в Афганистане и Сирии. Большой интерес швейцарской стороны вызвала информация об успешной реализации операции «Жусан», в рамках которой из Сирии в Казахстан было уже возвращено почти 600 граждан нашей страны.

Швейцарская сторона выразила готовность поделиться своим опытом в сфере управления водными ресурсами и преодоления вызовов в этой сфере в контексте развития сотрудничества в Центральной Азии. В повестку политических консультаций также вошли вопросы сотрудничества в рамках ООН, ОБСЕ, ОЭСР, ВТО и других ключевых международных организаций.

Отмечен позитивный рост двустороннего товарооборота, достигший по итогам прошлого года 3 млрд. долларов США. По данному показателю Швейцария является шестым торговым партнером Казахстана. Кроме того, Швейцария – один из крупнейших иностранных инвесторов в экономику Казахстана с 23 млрд. долларов США, вложенными в 2005-2018 гг.

Несмотря на достигнутые высокие показатели, стороны договорились наращивать торгово-экономическое сотрудничество. Перспективными направлениями названы инновации, пищевая отрасль, сельское хозяйство, финансовые услуги, энергетика, фармацевтика и туризм.

Добавлено : 27.06.2019, 10:45, Изменено : 27.06.2019, 10:45