​UN Under-Secretary-General Appreciates Kazakhstan's Repatriation of Citizens from Syria

DUSHANBE, May 17, 2019 - On the margins of the High-Level Conference “International and regional cooperation on countering terrorism and its financing through illicit drug trafficking and organized crime”, the Ambassador-at-Large at the Foreign Ministry of Kazakhstan, Stanislav Vassilenko, met with the Under-Secretary-General of the UN Counter-Terrorism Office, Vladimir Voronkov.

Voronkov was briefed on the results of the special operation “Zhusan-2”, carried out by Kazakhstan in May on the initiative of the First President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, and approved by the President of Kazakhstan, Kassym-Jomart Tokayev. As a result of the operation, 231 Kazakh citizens, including 59 women and 156 children, were evacuated from combat zones.

Voronkov praised Kazakhstan's activities in combating terrorism and extremism, the successful promotion of the Code of Conduct Towards Achieving a World Free of Terrorism, as well as Kazakhstan's leadership in solving the issue of returning foreign terrorist fighters. The UN Under-Secretary-General noted the great emotional impact on the Conference participants of the film on “Zhusan-2” operation and the Kazakh delegation's speech.

The Conference, organized with the support of the government of Tajikistan, in partnership with the UN, OSCE and the EU, gathered around 200 representatives of the participating states, as well as UN agencies, diplomatic missions, civil society organizations, development partners, think-tanks, international and regional organizations, as well as the private sector and religious leaders.

The day before, the Kazakh delegation took part in 4th Steering Committee Meeting of the UNODC Programme for Central Asia 2015-2019, which addressed the issues on the implementation of the initiative to establish the Central Asian Regional Information Coordination Center in Almaty and the UNODC integrated border cooperation programmes, as well as the creation of a platform for exchanging experiences and expert knowledge to counter transnational organized crime.

Created at : 18.05.2019, 14:00, Updated at : 18.05.2019, 14:00

Заместитель Генсека ООН высоко оценил деятельность Казахстана по возвращению граждан из Сирии

ДУШАНБЕ, 17 мая 2019 года - На полях Конференции высокого уровня «Международное и региональное сотрудничество в борьбе с терроризмом и источниками его финансирования, включая незаконный оборот наркотиков и организованную преступность» состоялась встреча Посла по особым поручениям МИД Казахстана Станислава Василенко с заместителем Генерального секретаря - главой Контртеррористического управления ООН Владимиром Воронковым.

Заместитель Генерального секретаря ООН был ознакомлен с результатами проведенной Казахстаном спецоперации «Жусан-2», осуществленной в мае т.г. по решению Первого Президента РК – Елбасы Нурсултана Назарбаева и в соответствии с санкцией Президента РК Касым-Жомарта Токаева, в результате которой удалось вывести из зон боевых действий 231 казахстанца, из которых 59 женщин и 156 детей.

В.Воронков дал высокую оценку деятельности Казахстана в сфере борьбы с терроризмом и экстремизмом, успешное продвижение Кодекса поведения по достижению мира, свободного от терроризма, а также лидерский подход РК к решению проблемы возвращения иностранных боевиков террористов. Заместитель Генерального секретаря ООН отметил большой эмоциональный эффект, произведенный видеофильмом по операции «Жусан-2» и выступлением казахстанской делегации на участников Конференции.

Конференция, организованная при поддержке Правительства Таджикистана в партнерстве с ООН, ОБСЕ и ЕС собрала около 200 представителей стран-участниц, в том числе Западной и Центральной Азии, агентств ООН, дипломатических миссий, организаций гражданского общества, партнеров по развитию, аналитических центров, международных, региональных организаций, а также частного сектора и религиозных лидеров.

Накануне, 16 мая делегация Казахстана приняла участие в 4-м заседании Руководящего комитета Программы УНП ООН по Региональной Программе для стран Центральной Азии 2015-2019 гг., в ходе которого были рассмотрены вопросы реализации инициативы по созданию Центральноазиатского регионального информационного координационного центра (ЦАРИКЦ) в Алматы и комплексных программ УНП ООН в области пограничного сотрудничества; создания площадки для обмена опытом и экспертными знаниями в целях противодействия транснациональной организованной преступности.

Добавлено : 18.05.2019, 14:00, Изменено : 18.05.2019, 14:00