​Meeting with UN Assistant Secretary-General Held at Ministry of Foreign Affairs

NUR-SULTAN, May 20, 2019 – Deputy Foreign Minister Yerzhan Ashikbayev recently met with UN Assistant Secretary-General for Political Affairs Miroslav Jenča at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The pair discussed the implementation of a number of First President Nursultan Nazarbayev's foreign policy initiatives, including nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, combating terrorism, and ensuring sustainable development in the UN.

The UN Assistant Secretary-General emphasized Kazakhstan's crucial role in regional and global security. “We highly appreciate Kazakhstan's active stand in regional cooperation. Your country's assistance in achieving the Sustainable Development Goals is essential for us as well," said Mr. Jenča.

The sides welcomed the close relations between Kazakhstan and the UN. The UN Assistant Secretary-General expressed gratitude to Kazakhstan for supporting the Secretary General's reforms and allocating a new building in Almaty to house UN-based agencies and programmes, the official opening of which was held on May 1.

The Deputy Foreign Minister informed Mr. Jenča about Kazakhstan's efforts to promote the Sustainable Development Goals, as well as the preparation of the Voluntary National Review to implement these goals in the country, to be presented by Kazakhstan at the UN High-level Political Forum in July this year in New York.

The sides discussed the prospects for the development of regional projects, including the integration of Afghanistan with Central Asia, as well as Kazakhstan's participation in UN peacekeeping missions.

At the end of the meeting, the sides reaffirmed their intention to further strengthen cooperation.

Created at : 20.05.2019, 18:30, Updated at : 20.05.2019, 18:30

В МИД РК состоялась встреча с помощником Генсека ООН

НУР-СУЛТАН, 20 мая 2019 года – Заместитель Министра иностранных дел Ержан Ашикбаев провел встречу с Помощником Генерального секретаря по политическим вопросам Мирославом Енча.

В ходе встречи обсужден ход реализации на площадке ООН ряда внешнеполитических инициатив Первого Президента – Елбасы Нурсултана Назарбаева в области ядерного разоружения и нераспространения, борьбы с терроризмом, обеспечения устойчивого развития.

М.Енча подчеркнул особую роль Казахстана в обеспечении региональной и глобальной безопасности. «Мы высоко оцениваем активную позицию Казахстана в вопросах регионального сотрудничества. Для нас также важно содействие, которое ваша страна оказывает реализации Целей устойчивого развития», - отметил М.Енча.

Стороны с удовлетворением отметили высокий уровень отношений между Казахстаном и ООН. В данном контексте Помощник Генсека выразил благодарность Казахстану за поддержку реформ Генерального секретаря и за выделение нового здания в Алматы для размещения базирующихся в городе структур и программ ООН, официальное открытие которого состоялось 1 мая.

Заместитель Министра ознакомил собеседника с усилиями Казахстана по продвижению Целей устойчивого развития, а также подготовку Добровольного национального обзора по реализации этих целей в стране, который будет представлен Казахстаном на Политическом форуме высокого уровня ООН в июле 2019 года в Нью-Йорке.

Затронуты перспективы реализации региональных проектов, в т.ч. по интеграции Афганистана с Центральной Азией, а также участие казахстанских миротворцев в миссиях под эгидой ООН.

В заключение встречи стороны подтвердили намерение на дальнейшее укрепление сотрудничества.

Добавлено : 20.05.2019, 18:30, Изменено : 20.05.2019, 18:30