UN Special Rapporteur on the Protection and Promotion of Human Rights Visits Kazakhstan

NUR-SULTAN - Fionnuala Ní Aoláin, the UN Special Rapporteur on the protection and promotion of human rights while countering terrorism, paid an official visit to Kazakhstan on May 9-17. The UN official is an independent expert on human rights protection while countering terrorism, and makes relevant recommendations on this issue.

During the visit, Ní Aoláin visited Nur-Sultan, Almaty and Aktau, where she met with government representatives, NGOs, individuals serving sentences for acts of terrorism, as well as individuals returned from Syria under the “Zhusan” operation.

Following the visit, the Special Rapporteur will prepare a report with recommendations on the situation in Kazakhstan and present it during the 43rd session of the UN Human Rights Council in March 2020.

In the fulfillment of its international commitments to the protection and promotion of human rights, in 2009Kazakhstan sent a standing invitation to all UN special rapporteurs to visit the country to study the human rights situation.

Created at : 17.05.2019, 19:00, Updated at : 17.05.2019, 19:00

Визит Специального докладчика ООН по вопросам защиты и поощрения прав человека Фионнуалы Ни Аолаин в Казахстан

НУР-СУЛТАН - В период с 9 по 17 мая 2019 г. состоялся официальный визит Специального докладчика ООН по вопросам защиты и поощрения прав человека в условиях борьбы с терроризмом Фионнуала Ни Аолаин в Республику Казахстан. Спецдокладчик ООН является независимым экспертом, изучающим вопросы обеспечения прав человека при борьбе с терроризмом, и вырабатывает соответствующие рекомендации.

В ходе визита Ф.Ни Аолаин посетила города Нур-Султан, Алматы, Актау и провела встречи с представителями Правительства Республики Казахстан, НПО, лицами, отбывающими наказание за акты терроризма, а также лицами, возвращенными из Сирии в рамках операции «Жусан».

По итогам визита Спецдокладчик подготовит доклад с рекомендациями о ситуации в Республике Казахстан и представит его в марте 2020 года, в ходе 43-й сессии Совета ООН по правам человека.

Отмечаем, что в рамках исполнения своих международных обязательств в области защиты и поощрения прав человека в 2009 г. Казахстан направил постоянное приглашение всем специальным докладчикам ООН посетить страну для изучения ситуации в области прав человека.

Добавлено : 17.05.2019, 19:00, Изменено : 17.05.2019, 19:00