Kazakhstan and UN strengthen partnership in the fight against international terrorism

NUR-SULTAN, August 19, 2019 - A meeting of Ambassador-at-Large Stanislav Vassilenko with a joint delegation of UN agencies, including representatives of the UN Counter-Terrorism Office, UN Development Program and the UN Office on Drugs and Crime, was held at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

During the meeting, the parties discussed the possible implementation of the “Strengthening Resilience to Violent Extremism in Asia (STRIVE Asia): A Joint EU-UN Partnership” project in Kazakhstan.

The main goal of the STRIVE Asia project is to contribute to the prevention and combating of violent extremism in Central, South and Southeast Asia through a multilateral approach including governments, key security stakeholders, civil society, academia and the media over the next four years.

According to the developers of the project, in recent years, the spread of violent extremism has posed a serious threat to the efforts of the international community to promote peace and security. In most Central Asian countries, there has been an increase in radicalization and religious extremism, and its source has been identified as foreign terrorist fighters (FTFs) moving around the region or returning to their countries.

The total project budget is 10 million US dollars. The main donor of the project is the EU.

There is a need for rehabilitation and reintegration of FTFs, in places with a deprivation of liberty, as well as Kazakh citizens evacuated from the war zones in Syria during the Zhusan humanitarian operation. Given this, the STRIVE Asia project, combining the experience of the EU and the UN, can strengthen Kazakhstan’s role in combating terrorism and extremism.

Created at : 20.08.2019, 12:05, Updated at : 20.08.2019, 12:05

Казахстан и ООН укрепляют партнерство в борьбе с международным терроризмом

НУР-СУЛТАН, 19 августа 2019 года – В МИД РК состоялась встреча Посла по особым поручениям Станислава Василенко с объединеной делегацией агентств системы ООН, включающую в себя представителей Контртеррористического управления ООН, Программы развития ООН и Управления ООН по наркотикам и преступности. 

В ходе встречи стороны обсудили возможность реализации в Казахстане проекта «Усиление устойчивости к насильственному экстремизму в Азии (STRIVE Asia): Совместное партнерство ЕС и ООН» (Strengthening Resilience to Violent Extremism in Asia (STRIVE Asia): A Joint EU-UN Partnership).

Основная цель проекта STRIVE Asia – внесение вклада в предотвращение и противодействие насильственному экстремизму в Центральной, Южной и Юго-Восточной Азии посредством многостороннего подхода через правительства, субъекты безопасности, гражданское общество, научные круги и средства массовой информации в течение ближайших четырех лет.

По мнению разработчиков проекта, в последние годы распространение насильственного экстремизма представляет собой серьезную угрозу усилиям международного сообщества в отношении мира и безопасности. В большинстве центральноазиатских стран был отмечен рост радикализации и религиозного экстремизма, причем его источником был выявлен феномен иностранных боевиков-террористов (ИБТ), передвигающихся по региону или возвращающихся в свои страны.

Общий бюджет проекта составляет 10 млн. долларов США. Основным донором проекта является ЕС. 

Учитывая необходимость реабилитации и реинтеграции иностранных боевиков-террористов (в местах лишения свободы), а также граждан Казахстана, эвакуированных из зон боевых действий в Сирии в ходе гуманитарной операции «Жусан», проект STRIVE Asia, объединяющий опыт ЕС и структур ООН, может способствовать укреплению потенциала Казахстана в сфере противодействия терроризму и экстремизму.

Добавлено : 20.08.2019, 12:05, Изменено : 20.08.2019, 12:05